Since 1953, the Cripple Creek District Museum has worked to preserve the history of Cripple Creek. Visitors can browse through a number of historic buildings, including the 1893 Colorado Trading & Transfer Building, the 1895 Midland Terminal Railroad Depot and a turn-of-the-century Assay Office. A self-guided tour of the museum includes exhibits of railroad history, mining memorabilia, maps, paintings, glass and china, children’s items, furnishings, a photograph gallery, Indian artifacts, mineral displays, two turn-of-the-century cabins and two Victorian apartments. One cabin belonged to French Blanche Le Coq and has been furnished to be historically accurate. The second cabin has been furnished to represent the living space of a miner during the gold rush days.
Cripple Creek District Museum